What a Huge Compliment!

14 May

As a newbie blogger I have been muddling along trying to write a mixture of interesting posts never sure if I was connecting with anyone so imagine my surprise when today I discovered I had been nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! What a huge compliment! very-inspiring-award21I was nominated by my most favourite blogger Rose at http://howdoyousaytacoinspanish.wordpress.com. Rose has been helping me learn Spanish by posting wonderfully funny Tecate Beer commercials and she even offered an entire tutorial on how to cuss in Spanish which I  have already found numerous occasions to put into practice. You really must check out her blog about her time spent in Mexico.

The Very Inspiring Blogger Award is a way of creating community amongst bloggers.

The rules of accepting the Very Inspiring Blogger Award are:

1. Display the Award Certificate on your website.
2. Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented you with the award.
3. Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers.
4. Drop them a comment to tip them off after you have linked them in the post.
5. Post 7 interesting things about yourself.

So here are 7 interesting things about me.

I live in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada which is one of the most beautiful but also one of the coldest cities on earth.

I will officially retire May 31, 2013 after 30 years in health care. I am so proud to be able to say I have helped save lives!

My husband and I bought a house in Progreso, Mexico this winter and will be heading down there for our first extended visit in September.

I love to garden!

I love to read!

I love to knit and crochet.

I am a proud mother/stepmother of six children, proud grandma of eight grandchildren (with one more on the way) and one cat.

I Hereby award the Very Inspiring Blogger Award to the following blogs which engage my interest in expat living, travel, all things Mexico, and people who are living the simple  life. Cheers to them and I would highly recommend them all to you.

The Artist’s Road

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Imagine Mérida

FindingMySelfinPanama

Howdoyousaytacoinspanish

Applecore

The Panama Adventure

Yucatan Bird Club

The Official How To Blog

Aerocretos De Mexico

GALLIVANCE

Kristen Lamb’s Blog

Brown Paper Belle

Belle Grove Plantation Bed And Breakfast

Yucatan Living

 

So take a look at these blogs. They are a real mix of practical advice, whimsy, and just people living authentic lives. Back soon with an update on the work in progress  on the Progreso house. Things are changing!

 

6 Responses to “What a Huge Compliment!”

  1. Patrick Ross May 14, 2013 at 10:39 AM #

    Kudos on your recognition, and much thanks for including The Artist’s Road on your list of chosen blogs! As a writer, I find the name “Progreso” as the home of the next chapter of your life filled with so much promise!

  2. Lee May 14, 2013 at 10:43 AM #

    I’m honored and grateful! Thank you … and also thank you for making me aware of these other blogs. I obviously need to update my feed reader. Good luck this September!

  3. gallivance.net May 15, 2013 at 11:45 AM #

    Congratulations on your award Leslie! What a fascinating gathering of people you’ve assembled. We are touched and honored to be included in such eminent company. Many thanks. Can’t wait to check out all these enticing blogs.

    Please follow this link to our Awards Page to see our personal response and Thank You.

    Wishing you all the best, Terri & James
    http://gallivance.net/about/

  4. writingfrommerida May 17, 2013 at 3:15 PM #

    Hi there Soon-to-be-happy-retired-Lady-living-in-Paradise.

    I am revamping my blog and my friend Lee suggested I check out yours.. Very nice… the visuals are especially good. As a new resident in Mexico, you might find my blog helpful: http://www.writingfrommerida.com

    Hoe to meet you soon.

    • luluandthemoon May 17, 2013 at 5:14 PM #

      Hi Writing from Merida. It was such a pleasure to start reading your blog. Books, bees, writers, flowers…..What’s not to love? I must thank Lee for sending you my way. Currently my blog is really just a bit of fluff to keep our family and friends informed on the renovations to Casa Lulu and to let them know a bit about the area. In the future I hope it will be a promotional tool for the rental accommodations we will have. But I have been enjoying the writing exercise so who knows how it may evolve. I hope we can stay in touch and perhaps meet in real life in the not too distant future. We plan to head to Progreso for our first extended visit around the first week of September.

      Cheers
      Leslie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Costa Rica Is Inspiring! Apparently, We Are Too! Thank You For The Very Inspiring Blogger Award! | Costa Rica Travel Blog .com - July 19, 2014

    […] the same about our writing. A huge thanks to The Seven Minds, Writingrenee’s Blog, and Lulu and the Moon for the award. Receiving this award from them means that other readers find their blogs to be […]

Leave a Reply

Life after Mérida, Debi in Richmond

Bits n Pieces of my life as an Extranjera in The USofA after spending 10 years living in Mexico.

Travel Moments

Adventure, Travel and Beyond

Let The Adventure "Continue"!

This blog is our way of taking you all with us on our awesome adventure! Come on! Let's go!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

