Starting to dream about design.

29 Mar

Just heard from our lawyer and the glitch that has been holding up closing on the house should be fixed by Wednesday so, fingers crossed, things should be able to move forward then. So I have been allowing myself to dream once again. I ordered several books from the library for inspiration. First up is this one, Casa Yucatan, by Karen Witynski and Joe P. Carr.

Casa YucatanLusciously illustrated and well sourced, this book is the perfect starting point for understanding the colours, textures and styles of  the Yucatan. The cover photo is of a walled courtyard which I could create between my two casitas here. Hard to imagine? Well, I like to dream big!

Hows this for a palette? The house is already yellow and white so adding a few punches of pepper colours will add just the right spice. Don’t think old colonial Mexico think more hot mid-century modern.IMG_3275

 

Love the Multi coloured steps. I see this on the stairs leading up and down from the terrace in the hot pepper palette!

IMG_3307

One of these for the concrete couch on the terrace. Perfect!

IMG_3319IMG_3318

I would love to have stairs like these leading to a roof top deck.IMG_3313

And finally, I can just picture this in the large casita.

IMG_3306

Can’t wait!

5 Responses to “Starting to dream about design.”

  1. Pleun March 31, 2013 at 3:32 PM #

    Wow, looks like you are living the dream! Never quite made it to Progresso, but if we get to Yucatan again (and we probably will) I’ll make sure not to skip it.
    I like the way you are thinking design-wise! Good luck with the dream!

    • luluandthemoon March 31, 2013 at 4:26 PM #

      Thanks so much. I think right now I feel equal parts excitement and terror but reading blogs like your reassure me that this is going to be a fabulous life experience. Cheers!

      • Pleun March 31, 2013 at 7:38 PM #

        You really should forget about all the terror for now, there is plenty of time later if you actually need it (probably not!) It is a cool adventure, maybe one of the coolest you ever did, so embrace and enjoy it! Life is good 😉

  2. Tom April 20, 2013 at 6:23 PM #

    Love those colors! Excellent choice for inspiration!

    • luluandthemoon April 20, 2013 at 7:13 PM #

      Thanks Tom. Keep in touch to watch what should be a fabulous transformation of our new home. I really look forward to all your posts. I travelled Europe back in the eighties and nineties and you sure are bringing back great memories.

Leave a comment

Life after Mérida, Debi in Richmond

Bits n Pieces of my life as an Extranjera in The USofA after spending 10 years living in Mexico.

Travel Moments

Adventure and Asian Travel

Let The Adventure "Continue"!

This blog is our way of taking you all with us on our awesome adventure! Come on! Let's go!

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

Filling a Much-Needed Void

Hanne Blank's Blog